March Madness!

I am caught up in the excitement of March madness like everyone else. The power house team upsets by underdog, academic, least-likely to play sports teams have been amazing this year (Go Harvard).  College players still bring the unstoppable passion and team spirit of the game to the court – the basketball court if you aren’t following me yet.  A couple of my teams (a red and white one) that I am not supposed to like if I want to live safely in Michigan is still in….but just barely.  The commentaries and recap scoreboards are everywhere online. (i.e., ESPN, CNN, ABC news)   President Obama even let his favorites be known – well of the mens basketball teams anyway.

So that brings me to my big question, where is the coverage and excitement for the women?  I am having a difficult time finding the women’s basketball team coverage.  But wasn’t the coach with the most wins ever…a woman? Oh yes, a quick Google search and it’s all coming back to me now….

“Pat Summitt is the winningest NCAA women’s basketball coach of all-time. (man or woman). In fact, she is the only coach to ever win over 1,000 games. Summitt has also won the most career NCAA women’s basketball  (8) titles as head coach.

In honor of Summitt, I think I should mention that Tennessee (ranked #2 in Division I) is still in it, and so is Vanderbilt (ranked #8).  The green and white team everybody around here likes is ranked #5 in case you wondered.

Women's Basketball Home

I am going to be celebrating and rooting for the women too.   Go ladies!

Bea Griffith-Cooper

http://rivals.yahoo.com/ncaa/football/news?slug=ac-7168152

4 thoughts on “March Madness!

  1. cranstonholden March 25, 2013 / 7:15 pm

    Went and heard Summit speak. She’s a great speaker

    • griffib8 March 26, 2013 / 1:37 am

      Thanks…good to know. I’ve heard her book entitled, Reach for the Summit is excellent

      • cranstonholden March 26, 2013 / 1:41 am

        she told how she recruited Candice Parker away from Alabama. I say good and War Eagle

  2. B March 27, 2013 / 9:53 am

    …the lady Volunteers are still in it….sad to see State and Vandy go…

Leave a Reply

