Rest and Play

I am on day 17 of Deepak Chopra and Oprah’s 21-day meditation. I haven’t done each day, but pretty close.  Today the centering thought was ” through rest and play I open my creative channel.”  Wow, what a (centering) thought.  It doesn’t say by pushing and working harder, but through rest and play.  Having taught and been a student of creativity for about 20 years I do understand that this is important.  I feel as if I have gotten further and further away from actually incorporating it into my life in real ways.  And I know that you have too.  What are you doing for play in your life?  What is nurturing you?  How do you express yourself?

Today I got on my bike (I know I’m in a place for where that can happen) and just rode and rode.  It felt so freeing to do that and I thought, “why don’t I do more of this?”  Yesterday, I finished a fiction book and I thought, “why don’t I do  more of this?”  It’s not because I can’t.  I have total freedom to make these choices, but I forget.  And I know that you do too.

Rest and play open your creative channels.  Rest and play open your creative channels.  Rest and play open your creative channels.  You have permission, now go!

Lynne Scheible, MSOD

One thought on “Rest and Play

  1. Lisa April 1, 2013 / 1:39 pm

    Lovely Lynn..and good for you for getting on a bike!!!!! Have fun and ,lots of play!

    Lisa H. 🙂

Leave a Reply

