Harbingers-of-Spring

Are you looking forward to the early Harbingers-of-Spring after our snowy, cold winter?  I am ready to see my favorites – the Robin and the snow Crocus – because they remind me there is life after the Siberian winter cold fronts that keep slamming across the Midwest this year.

I was surprised to learn about another harbinger in the form of a wildflower called “Salt and Pepper” (Erigenia bulbosa) that grows from February until May. Yes…February. How can this be right when the snow looks so cold and colorless that is hard to imagine any form of life underneath it. But there is early growth under that white blanket that will transform into beauty before we can blink.

My reflection on nature’s example is a question for myself… “In what fertile soil is my personal growth and transformation going to take root?”

Salt and Pepper

Source:USDA Plant database http://plants.usda.gov/core/profile?symbol=ERBU

Leave a Reply

